Stations of the Cross


The Stations of the Cross, also known as the Way of the Cross or Via Crucis, commemorate Jesus's passion and death on the cross. There are 14 stations that each depict a moment on his journey to Calvary, usually through sacred art, prayers, and reflections. The practice began as pious pilgrims traced his path through Jerusalem on the Via Dolorosa. 

Later, for the many who wanted to pass along the same route, but could not make the trip to Jerusalem, a practice developed that eventually took the form of the fourteen stations currently found in almost every church throughout the world.


Join us!

On Fridays during the Lenten Season, we offer the Stations of the Cross.  As we read in the Dictionary of the Liturgy, the Stations are a pious exercise honoring the Passion and Death of Christ.  This practice was promoted by the Franciscans during the 14th century and this devotion may be public or private.  

The Second Vatican Council in the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy [art. 13] directs that popular devotions be in some fashion derived from the Sacred Liturgy and lead back to the Liturgy.  Since the Liturgy is so Scriptural it would seem that popular devotion should also incorporate Scripture. 

There are many variations or series of the Stations. For example, during the Holy Year of 1975, Pope Paul VI approved a new series of Stations that are based on the Gospel.  These Stations begin with the Last Supper and conclude with the Resurrection.

At our parish we have used The Way of the Cross with the text from the Scriptures.  


Stations of the Cross will be held at Immaculate Conception Church at 7:00pm every Friday during Lent:

     2/24, 3/3, 3/10, 3/17, 3/24, 3/31

Good Friday, April 7 Stations will be held at 12:15 at ICC


For those who cannot join us in person, here are a few resources to  help reflect at home: